Only 5 players retained as Orlando City B cuts 2016 roster

The cut-throat nature of the post-season is already upon us as Orlando City B made wholesale changes to their 2016 roster on Wednesday.

Retaining just five players who competed under Anthony Pulis in the Lions’ inaugural USL season, there were some surprising names departing Titan Soccer Complex.

The players staying in Melbourne for 2017 are Zach Ellis-Hayden and Jake Fenlason who re-signed new contracts while OCB captain Lewis Neal, top scorer from last season Michael Cox and exciting prospect Pierre da Silva remain.

Cut from the Orlando City B roster are Mark Ridgers, Craig Nitti, Antonio Matarazzo, Alejandro García, Johnny Mendoza, Marius Obekop, Andrew Ribeiro, William Eyang and Keegan Smith.

Elsewhere, an option to retain Kyle Callan-McFadden was sadly not exercised with the promising Republic of Ireland Under-21 international having recently been interviewed by Orlando City UK.

In light of the roster cuts, Orlando City B head coach Anthony Pulis said: “I’d like to thank the guys who are moving on for all their hard work and the way they represented OCB so well to help us reach the playoffs in our inaugural season.

“I have great respect for all of them and wish them the best of luck in their future endeavours.”

The first of the three individual Orlando City SC franchises to reach the end-of-season playoffs and in their inaugural campaign to boot, Orlando City B’s Anthony Pulis will now look to shape a new-look squad ahead of 2017.

As for the Orlando City SC roster cuts, the Orlando Sentinel’s Alicia Rose DelGallo believes there could be news on that front later this week.

2 thoughts on “Only 5 players retained as Orlando City B cuts 2016 roster

  1. Pingback: Six players head for the Orlando City SC exit door

  2. Pingback: What can we expect from Orlando City B's three new signings?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *