Twitter reacts to… Orlando City SC’s 2017 protected player list

Embed from Getty Images

As I’m sure most of you are aware now, Major League Soccer requests that clubs release protected player lists at the end of each campaign and Orlando City SC did just that yesterday.

With the 2017 MLS Expansion Draft set to take place on December 12th with new boys Los Angeles FC looking to build their inaugural 2018 roster, they won’t be able to get their hands on these 11 Lions stars.

The 11 players on Orlando City SC‘s 2017 protected list are Joe Bendik, José Aja, Scott Sutter, Jonathan Spector, Donny Toia, Will Johnson, Cristian HiguitaYoshimar Yotún, Dom Dwyer, Cyle Larin and Carlos Rivas.

2017 Orlando City SC Protected Player List

Automatically protected players are Mason Stajduhar, Tommy Redding and Richie Laryea who finally made his breakthrough into the Lions’ first team in 2017.

That leaves the likes of Giles Barnes, Servando Carrasco, Pierre da Silva and the long serving Rafael Ramos available for selection in the draft and as you’d expect, City fans haven’t been shy in airing their views on Twitter.

For the other 12 Orlando City SC players unprotected in the 2017 MLS Expansion Draft, click here.

Orlando City UK hand-selected some of the best tweets following yesterday’s club announcement.

What are YOU making of Orlando City SC’s protected list ahead of 2018?

Comment below or tweet us at @Orlando_CityUK to let us know!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *